Institut
für
unkonventionelle,unerwartete,umwerfende,urige,ungewöhnliche,unbeschwerte,unnachahmliche,ungezogene,unglaubliche,unwiderstehliche,unverbesserliche,unvergleichliche,unkomplizierte,unglaubliche,unverbrauchte,ultrageschmeidige,urbane,umweltbewusste,unfassbare,umfassende,unterhaltsame,unerschütterliche,unbeschreibliche,unkonventionelle
Baukunst
EN | DE
CONTACT
ABOUT US
PROJECTS

_I
I_
¯I Site plan
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

PEK


Architectural Design Competition for a Residential and Commercial Development

Location: Prinz-Eugen-Park in Munich

Year: 2017

In collaboration with: steidle architects and Stefanie Jühling (landscape architects)

Owner: GVG Grundstücks-, Verwaltungs- und Verwertungsgesellschaft mbH

Award: 2nd place

Pek 20 lageplan 300
_I
I_
¯I View of southeast corner
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive1a 400
On the site of the former “Prinz Eugen Kaserne” in Munich’s Bogenhausen district, a new residential development is being planned. The design for the focal building complex standing at the center of this development was the object of the architectural design competition "Prinz Eugen Karree" or

PEK,

for short. The new main building should not only contain diverse commercial stores like supermarkets, restaurants, and small shops, to provide for the residential development, but should itself also comply to the so-called “Konzeptioneller Mietwohnungsbau,” (program for government funded housing) which will be supported by the City. Together with strict expectations regarding the ground plans and a proposed minimum life-span of 60-years for the intended use, there were additional criteria such as a green courtyard with urban garden, a sustainable method of construction, and provision of soundproofing.
_I
I_
¯I predefined layout
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

The basic layout

was already laid out in the existing urban plans. As a central component of the entire area, the building has special significance as a landmark and notable building for the district. The heavily used Cosimastraße means there is extreme noise exposure on the west side, and to a lesser extent also on the north and south side. In the east, on the other hand, the Quartiersplatz, with its clear edges, provides maximum quality for recreational activities.
Pek 10 logo0 300
_I
I_
¯I soundproofing
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
On the three noisiest sides of the city block, the facade is staggered. As a result, not only is the requirement for sound diffusion fulfilled, but the large block becomes structured into pleasant parts that are perfect for creating new addresses. The rounding of the corners formed through the

staggered design

creates a highly recognizable appearance and acts as a welcoming gesture at the entrances of the residences.
Pek 10 logo5 300
_I
I_
¯I Height development
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
The rounded corners not only moderate the entrance, but also emphasize the exciting

height development

towards the “Quartiersplatz.” The highest point is oriented directly towards the square, where it not only produces the best effect but also the least issues regarding its setback from other building surfaces.
Pek 10 logo2 300
_I
I_
¯I Quartiersplatz
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Towards the

Quartiersplatz,

the building is straight: it edges the square and adds structural strength to the public space.
Pek 10 logo3 300
_I
I_
¯I Height development and building depth
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Height grading and

building depths

have been designed to optimize the floor plans, depending on which side of street they are located. The narrowest building is located towards the noisy Cosimastraße. Although the building depths are increased to the north, south, and west, they still remain below 15m, in accordance with the development plan. As a result, the courtyard is more spacious and airy. The design of the courtyard develops from the staggering of the exterior facades. However, the divisions are more refined on the inside; they dissolve from one house to the next and strengthen the feeling of the shared courtyard and thus of the community.
Pek 10 logo4 300
_I
I_
¯I View to Quartiersplatz
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive1 600
The expressive design of the volume of the building is one that necessitated a uniform and calm materiality to emphasize the form without creating additional visual divisions. It was also important to create a stable, durable shell for this heavily-used building that lies at the

center of the district.

The design statutes of the district also need to be considered here. A bright, beige colored, slightly iridescent brick was therefore chosen for all facades. Stability, longevity, and low maintenance are the founding qualities of the material, but the subtle and inviting color and tactile texture create a livable feel that speaks to the buildings use. In addition, brick, as one of the most diverse materials, offers maximum freedom of design. Masonry parapets as a roof edge trim strengthen the volume of the build and ensure a pleasant finished look. In addition, these parapets transform the roofs into functional spaces. On the one hand, these screening fortifications maximum potential for installation of photovoltaic and solar thermal systems, and on the other hand, the roof areas that are easily accessible can be used by residents without disturbing the external view of the facade.
_I
I_
¯I Detail: Facade to Quartiersplatz
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Detail: Facade to Quartiersplatz

Pek 30 detail ost 300
_I
I_
¯I View from Cosimastraße
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive2 600
With the narrow building depth and externally situated stairwells, it is possible to orientate the rooms on the busiest

road side

inwards toward the courtyard. This way their exposure to the noise is minimized and all the apartments can enjoy open balconies and loggias without the need to develop technically sophisticated sound-proofed outdoor areas. The striking form of the facade is broken up with three window formats, set out in a calm and clearly defined grid. The staggering and the outlying placement of the staircases on the facade ensure a division into open and closed areas. The spaces become clearly defined without breaking up the house and maintain an unrestricting and open atmosphere.
_I
I_
¯I Detail: Facade to Cosimastraße
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Detail: Facade to Cosimastraße

Pek 30 detail west 300
_I
I_
¯I View of the courtyard
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive3 600
The facades to the

courtyard

deliberately speak a different language. Here the whole focus is maximizing quality of living. From the 1st to 5th floors, generous, deep-set windows from floor to ceiling, in combination with large balconies that span the width of the windows, open up the finely graduated facade toward the peaceful courtyard. Despite the differing materials and colors characteristic of the facade and the courtyard, including the rather stark balcony railing, several features ensure the cohesion between the outdoor space and exterior facade. Balcony railings and fronts in a bright, light gray create a neutral and friendly background that is softened by colored fabric shutters in green and blue tones.
_I
I_
¯I Detail: Facades to the courtyard
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Detail: Facades to the courtyard

Pek 30 detail innen 400
_I
I_
¯I Floor plan: ground floor
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

floor plan: ground floor

The commercial units on the ground floor are strongly influenced by the predefined logistical access points for deliveries and the underground parking in the northeast. Thus, the delivery areas of the large commercial units (a general store and drugstore) are arranged with clear and direct connections to the main entrance of the square. A bike rental station and bakery are also accessible from the same routes. Three smaller shops are located at three of the block corners: with this maximum external frontage they are optimally exposed to local and passing trade.
The entrances to the upper floor residential units are positioned at the curves of the façade staggering and ensure clear visibility and orientation.
Pek 20 grundriss 00 600
_I
I_
¯I Floor plan: 1st floor
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

Floor plan: 1st floor

An issue of particular importance to the first floor was access to the common courtyard. The entrances of the individual houses here are also directly connected to the core areas of the development. This facilitates orientation in the building. A large stairway links the courtyard to the square outside, bringing life and exchange to both areas. This access route can also be used by residents and staff of the development. At the same location and sheltered under cover are common recreation areas.
Pek 20 grundriss 01 400
_I
I_
¯I Floor plan: 2nd & 3rd floors
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Floor plan: 2nd & 3rd floors

The heavy noise load requires special measures not only in the layout of the building, but also in the detailed floor plan. Therefore, all development cores are placed on the outer facade and accentuated by the striking rounded edges of the staggered design. This placement of open areas along the street facades means the private apartments can be optimally aligned towards the quiet courtyard.
Pek 20 grundriss 0203 400
_I
I_
¯I floor plan: 4th floor
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

floor plan: 4th floor

The roof areas on the 3rd and 5th floor feature extensive landscaping and are fitted with photovoltaic and solar thermal energy units. All other necessary technical hubs can be accommodated here as well.
Pek 20 grundriss 04 400
_I
I_
¯I floor plan: 5th floor
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

floor plan: 5th floor

The proposed Urban Gardening project is positioned on the large roof area of the 4th floor, together with a sun terrace and activity area for small children. The seclusion afforded here creates opportunity for more exclusive, community-only recreation for the residents, whilst discouraging unrestricted and unwanted harvesting of the Urban Gardening projects bounty. Easy access to these roofs is provided by the two staircases in the five-story building, without the need for additional structures or elevators. The Urban Gardens are connected to the common areas and the outside staircase on the first floor and, with their optimal sunny location, are ideal for this use.
Pek 20 grundriss 05 400
_I
I_
¯I floor plan: UG 1
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

floor plan: UG 1

The underground garages are divided so that on the first underground level, the smaller number of commercial parking spaces is combined with occasional-use spaces for residents. Here, for each unit’s access stairwell, storage space, bicycle lots and waste rooms have been added, each of a size to accommodate the specific level of usage.
Pek 20 grundriss  01 400
_I
I_
¯I floor plan: UG 2
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

floor plan: UG 2

The main parking spaces for the residential units are arranged independently on the second underground level and separated from the rest of the underground car park with a single barrier at the ramp.
Pek 20 grundriss  02 400
_I
I_
¯I East Elevation
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

East Elevation

Pek 20 ansicht ost 800
_I
I_
¯I South Elevation
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

South Elevation

Pek 20 ansicht sued 500
_I
I_
¯I West elevation
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

West elevation

Pek 20 ansicht west 800
_I
I_
¯I north elevation
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

north elevation

Pek 20 ansicht nord 800
_I
I_
¯I cross section
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

cross section

Pek 20 querschnitt 500
_I
I_
¯I Longitudinal section
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Longitudinal section

Pek 20 laengsschnitt 700

Institut
für
urige,ungewöhnliche,unglaubliche,unverbrauchte,unglaubliche,umweltbewusste,unkonventionelle,unfassbare,unbeschreibliche,unwiderstehliche,unerwartete,umfassende,unkomplizierte,umwerfende,ultrageschmeidige,unbeschwerte,unverbesserliche,urbane,unerschütterliche,unnachahmliche,unkonventionelle,ungezogene,unvergleichliche,unterhaltsame
Baukunst

_I
I_
¯I Lageplan
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

PEK


Realisierungswettbewerb für ein Wohn- und Geschäftshaus

Ort: Baugebiet WA 6 im Planungsgebiet Prinz-Eugen-Park in München

Jahr: 2016

In Zusammenarbeit mit: Steidle Architekten und Stefanie Jühling Landschaftsarchitektin

Bauherr: GVG Grundstücks-, Verwaltungs- und Verwertungsgesellschaft mbH

Preis: 2. Platz

Pek 20 lageplan 300
_I
I_
¯I Perspektive Südostecke
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive1a 400
Im Münchner Stadtteil Bogenhausen entsteht auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Prinz Eugen Kaserne ein komplett neues Wohnviertel. Der zentrale Baustein dieses neuen Wohnquartiers war beim Realisierungswettbewerb "Prinz Eugen Karree" - kurz

PEK

- gesucht. Das neue Gebäude soll mit diversen Gewerbeeinheiten wie Supermarkt, Restaurant und Kleingewerbe nicht nur die Nahversorgung des Viertels sicherstellen, sondern wurde von der Stadt München auch als geförderter, sogenannter "Konzeptioneller Mietwohnungsbau" vorgesehen. Neben strengen Vorgaben zu den Grundrissen und einer Nutzungsdauer von mindestens 60 Jahren gab es zusätzlich begrünte Innenhöfe mit Urban Gardening, eine nachhaltige Bauweise und Lösungen für die hohe Schallbelastung in einem Baukörper zu kombinieren.
_I
I_
¯I Ausgangssituation
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Die Grundform

wurde städtebaulich bereits vorgegeben. Als zentrales Bauteil des gesamten Areals kommt dem Gebäude besondere Bedeutung als Orientierungspunkt und identitätsstiftender Bau für das Viertel zu. Die stark befahrene Cosimastraße sorgt dazu auf der Westseite, abgeschwächt auch auf Nord- und Südseite für extreme Schallbelastung. Im Osten dagegen stellt der Quartiersplatz mit seinen klaren Raumkanten maximale Aufenthaltsqualität bereit.
Pek 10 logo0 300
_I
I_
¯I Schalldiffusion/Adressbildung
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Auf den drei lauten Seiten des Stadtblocks wird die Fassade gestaffelt ausgeführt. Hierdurch wird nicht nur die in der Auslobung gewünschte Schalldiffusion erreicht, sondern auch der Großblock zur Adressbildung in angenehme Teile strukturiert. Die Abrundung der durch die

Staffelung

entstehenden Ecken schafft einerseits einen hohen Wiedererkennungswert und wirkt andererseits als einladende Geste an den Eingängen für die Hausbewohner.
Pek 10 logo5 300
_I
I_
¯I Höhenstaffelung
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Die runden Ecken moderieren nicht nur die Eingangssituationen, sondern unterstreichen auch die spannungsreiche

Höhenentwicklung

in Richtung Quartiersplatz. Der Hochpunkt wird direkt zum Platz hin orientiert, wo er nicht nur die beste Wirkung, sondern auch die geringsten Probleme mit Abstandsflächen hervorruft.
Pek 10 logo2 300
_I
I_
¯I Gerade Fassung Quartiersplatz
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Zum

Quartiersplatz

selbst zeigt sich der Baukörper geradlinig - um den Platz zu fassen und den öffentlichen Raum zu stärken.
Pek 10 logo3 300
_I
I_
¯I Gebäudetiefen/Innenhof
Logo: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Höhenstaffelung und

Gebäudetiefen

werden genutzt um je nach Straßenseite die Grundrisse zu optimieren. Zur lauten Cosimastraße ist die geringste Gebäudetiefe vorgesehen. Zum Norden, Süden und Westen werden die Gebäudetiefen zwar erhöht, bleiben aber dennoch unter den laut Bebauungsplan zulässigen 15 m. Hierdurch wird der Innenhof deutlich größer und luftiger. Die Gestaltung des Innenhofs entwickelt sich aus der Staffelung der Außenfassaden. Allerdings wird die Teilung innen verfeinert, wodurch die Einteilung in Häuser aufgelöst und das Gefühl des gemeinsamen Hofes und damit der Hausgemeinschaft gestärkt wird.
Pek 10 logo4 300
_I
I_
¯I Perspektive Quartiersplatz
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive1 600
Die expressive Gestaltung des Volumens erfordert eine gleichmäßige und ruhige Materialität die die Form ohne zusätzliche Teilungen herausstreicht. Auch ist eine stabile, langlebige Hülle für diesen im

Zentrum des Quartiers

stehenden, stark beanspruchten Baukörper wichtig. Die Gestaltungssatzung des Quartiers ist hier ebenso zu berücksichtigen. Ein heller, beigefarbener, leicht changierenden Klinker wurde deshalb für alle Fassaden gewählt. Stabilität, Langlebigkeit und Wartungsarmut sind dabei die harten Faktoren, wobei die sinnlichen Qualitäten wie die angenehme Haptik und die lebendige Optik weiter für eine Verwendung sprechen. Daneben ermöglicht Klinker als eines der vielfältigsten Materialien den maximalen Gestaltungsspielraum. Gemauerte Brüstungen als Dachrandabschluss stärken das Volumen und sorgen für einen angenehmen Abschluss des Hauses. Außerdem machen diese eine bessere Nutzung der Dächer möglich. Einerseits wird durch den Sichtschutz eine maximale Ausnutzung zur Aufstellung von Photovoltaik und Solarthermie möglich, andererseits können die über die Höhenstaffelung einfach erreichbaren Dachflächen für die Bewohner nutzbar gemacht werden ohne die Fassadengestaltung negativ zu beeinflussen.
_I
I_
¯I Fassadendetail Quartiersplatz
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Fassadendetail Quartiersplatz

Pek 30 detail ost 300
_I
I_
¯I Perspektive Cosimastraße
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive2 600
Durch die außenliegenden Treppenhäuser in Kombination mit der geringen Gebäudetiefe ist es möglich auf der am stärksten belasteten

Straßenseite

alle schutzbedürftigen Räume in Richtung des Innenhofs zu organisieren. Somit erhalten alle Wohnungen offene Balkone und Loggien ohne die Notwendigkeit technisch äußerst aufwändige schallgeschützte Freibereiche auszubilden. Die prägnante Großform wird mit drei Fensterformaten in einem ruhigen und klar definierten Raster strukturiert. Dabei sorgen die Staffelung sowie die an der Fassade liegenden Treppenhäuser für eine Aufteilung in offene und geschlossene Flächen. Das Haus wird geöffnet, ohne es in Einzelteile zerfallen zu lassen.
_I
I_
¯I Fassadendetail Cosimastraße
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Fassadendetail Cosimastraße

Pek 30 detail west 300
_I
I_
¯I Perspektive Innenhof
Rendering: IFUB*/Steidle I¯
Pek 00 perspektive3 600
Die Fassaden zum

Innenhof

sprechen bewusst eine andere Sprache. Hier herrscht maximale Aufenthaltsqualität. Großzügige, tiefliegende Fenster von Boden bis Decke in Kombination mit großen Balkonen in Breite der Fenster öffnen die fein gestaffelte Fassade vom 1. bis zum 5. OG in Richtung des ruhigen Hofs. Der Zusammenhalt zwischen der Hof- und der Außenfassade wird trotz unterschiedlicher Ausprägung über die Materialität und Farbigkeit aber auch über die Gestaltung der Geländer sichergestellt. Balkongitter und Balkonvorderseiten in einem hellen lichtgrau sorgen für eine freundliche Grundstimmung die durch farbige Stoffrolläden in Grün- und Blautönen noch aufgelockert wird.
_I
I_
¯I Fassadendetail Innenhof
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Fassadendetail Innenhof

Pek 30 detail innen 400
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss EG
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

Grundriss EG

Die gewerblichen Nutzungen im EG werden stark durch die fest vorgeschriebene Lage der Anlieferung und Tiefgaragenzufahrt im Nordosten beeinflusst. So werden die großen Gewerbeeinheiten Vollsortimenter und Drogeriemarkt mit direkter Anbindung an die Anlieferung in der Mitte des Blocks mit zentralem Haupteingang vom Platz angeordnet. Auch der Fahrradverleih und die Bäckerei werden vom gleichen Zugang erschlossen. Jeweils an den expressiven Blockecken werden die drei kleineren Ladeneinheiten wirkungsvoll mit maximalem Außenbezug positioniert.
Die Zugänge zu den in den oberen Geschoßen liegenden Wohneinheiten werden an den Rundungen der Staffelung positioniert und sorgen für eine klare Erkennbarkeit.
Pek 20 grundriss 00 600
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss OG 1
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

Grundriss OG 1

Besondere Bedeutung kommt dem ersten Obergeschoss zu - dem gemeinsamen Innenhof. Auch hier wurden die Zugänge zu den einzelnen Häusern in direkter Verknüpfung zu den Erschließungskernen angelegt. So wird die Orientierung im Gebäude erleichtert. Um den Innenhof aber auch den Quartiersplatz zu beleben, wird der Block mit einer großen Freitreppe zum Platz geöffnet. Somit kann dieser auch für die Erschließung genutzt werden. An gleicher Stelle sind die Gemeinschaftsräume unter einem überdachten Vorbereich angeordnet.
Pek 20 grundriss 01 400
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss OG 2+3
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Grundriss OG 2+3

Die starke Schallbelastung erfordert nicht nur in der Gestaltung des Volumens, sondern auch im Grundriss besondere Maßnahmen. Deshalb werden alle Erschließungskerne an die Außenfassade gelegte und markant mit der Fassadenrundung akzentuiert. Durch diese Lage der Erschließung an den Straßenfassaden können die Wohnungen optimal in Richtung des ruhigen Innenhofs ausgerichtet werden.
Pek 20 grundriss 0203 400
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss OG 4
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

Grundriss OG 4

Die Dachflächen auf dem 3. und 5. OG werden extensiv begrünt und mit Photovoltaik und Solarthermie genutzt. Hier sollen auch konzentriert die notwendigen technischen Aufbauten untergebracht werden.
Pek 20 grundriss 04 400
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss OG 5
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle/Jühling I¯

Grundriss OG 5

Das vorgesehene Urban Gardening, dem eine gewisse Abgeschlossenheit zuträglich ist um nicht zur anonymen Ernte einzuladen, wird zusammen mit einer Sonnenterrasse und einem Kleinkinderspielangebot auf der großen Dachfläche auf dem Dach des 4. OG positioniert. Die Erreichbarkeit dieser Dachflächen ist über die Anordnung der beiden Treppenhäuser im fünfgeschossigen Gebäudeteil problemlos ohne zusätzliche Dachaufbauten oder Aufzüge gegeben. Sie sind an den Bereich der Gemeinschaftsräume und der Freitreppe im 1. OG angebunden und haben mit ihrer Besonnung ideale Voraussetzungen für diese Nutzung.
Pek 20 grundriss 05 400
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss UG 1
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Grundriss UG 1

Die Tiefgaragen sind so aufgeteilt, dass die geringere Anzahl der gewerblichen Parkplätze mit den Nebennutzungen der Wohnungen im 1. UG kombiniert wird. Hier sind zu jedem Treppenhaus zugehörige Kellerabstell-, Fahrrad- und Müllräume in passender Größe angeordnet.
Pek 20 grundriss  01 400
_I
I_
¯I Grundriss UG 2
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Grundriss UG 2

Die Parkplätze für die Wohneinheiten werden im 2. Untergeschoss komplett eigenständig angeordnet und mit nur einer Schranke an der Rampe vom Rest der Tiefgarage getrennt.
Pek 20 grundriss  02 400
_I
I_
¯I Ansicht Ost
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Ansicht Ost

Pek 20 ansicht ost 800
_I
I_
¯I Ansicht Süd
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Ansicht Süd

Pek 20 ansicht sued 500
_I
I_
¯I Ansicht West
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Ansicht West

Pek 20 ansicht west 800
_I
I_
¯I Ansicht Nord
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Ansicht Nord

Pek 20 ansicht nord 800
_I
I_
¯I Querschnitt
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Querschnitt

Pek 20 querschnitt 500
_I
I_
¯I Längsschnitt
Plan: IFUB*/Steidle I¯

Längsschnitt

Pek 20 laengsschnitt 700
_I
I_
¯I
Icon info 400
_I
I_
¯I
Icon kontakt 600